things, bits & bobs...

By Nicpic

Fire...

There was/still is, a big moorland fire at RSPB Dove Stones at Greenfield, Oldham. When I first saw the smoke, I thought it was nearer where I live but it was deceptive. I was driving over the tops and thinking I'll turn round in the car park in the middle but no chance, it was completely full. That meant I had to drive to Greenfield and the roundabout below the entrance to their car park.

I can't tell you how appalled I was at humans. I'd heard it was pretty bad there recently with all the sunny days but 'broccoli and cauliflowers!!!'

It's not the widest of roads so police had put cones along for no parking. Nobody bothered...parking all over, picnics and deckchairs literally on the road/roadside, people standing on walls to take photos of the fire, cars just stopping to take photos, cars turning road in the middle of the road and getting stuck because there was no room to turn around...and litter.

Appalling behaviour in my book with no respect for anything. This photo was taken from an empty lay-by higher up on my way back.

Portable bbq's should be banned & people should be banned from beautiful places if they behave like this.

Rant over... my extra is yet another little owl in a new location in my valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.