Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

The haaf netting season started yesterday and had I arrived on the marsh a few minutes earlier I would have taken a shot of him in the water.  As it was he was more than happy to pose for me.  There were just the two of them this morning.  Its a Viking tradition going back thousands of years.  Not a lot of people doing it these days probably because they aren't allowed to catch many fish, usually salmon,  so its not worth their while, but they like to carry on the tradition.  Its also practiced on the other side of the Solway in Scotland.  If anybody is interested here's some further information

My neighbour popped over this afternoon for a chat.  We sat in the garden until it started raining!  It was still raining when I walked Misty ... I actually quite enjoyed walking in the rain which is unusual for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.