Just a Youngster

I was watching this Immature Great Blue Skimmer dragonfly as it hunted above our pond this morning. I noticed that one of it's wings on it's left side was a bit crumpled. The deformity certainly didn't slow it down at all though! As I was happily snapping away, it zipped off to capture some breakfast and darted skyward to snag a tiny moth in it jaws. I actually heard a 'snapping' sound! Yikes! I've heard the sound of dragonfly jaws snapping on their prey before, but it's still noteworthy. By the time the tiny dragon resumed it's perch the tasty morsel was no where to be seen! Great Blue Skimmers are this color as immatures, turning a beautiful powdery blue as they mature.
It was a good morning for 'Tiny' things...*extra...a tiny Flax Lily blossom, a tiny Dragon (the Brown Anole type), a Monarch Caterpillar munching on milkweed leaves and the very tiny flowers on a Beauty Berry bush (a Florida native shrub).
If you're the praying-type, please say one for my country. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.