If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Lichen (Evernia prunastri)

Today Clickychick had decided she was going to make a visit to the tip recycling centre.   Officially you are only allowed to take small quantities of things you can't store safely yourself.  Which I translate as "we are open but don't bring anything".   Anyway she set off with a full car load and queued for over an hour to get in.   They are running a one car in one car out, no more than 3 cars in at a time system.

When I was loading the car a lot of the material was trimmings from various hedges, bushes and trees.  One of the branches had this clump of lichen on it.  Thought it would make a change from birds and flowers.

Based on information given by a knowledgeable blipper back in 2018 when I last blipped and Evernia I am reasonably confident in my identification having checked the underside of the thallus (I think that is the correct term).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.