Further my skills

By H0tamer

End of a journey, the beginning of a new one.

After 31 years and 9 months my company decided to let me go.
I knew it might be coming, Support of three different divisions was merged into one big team under one director with around 30 managers reporting to him. The other 50 managers would be made redundant. Every remaining manager would have 25-30 team members.
I was already on a reduced work week and didn't fancy to go back to a full work week, especially not to other work (less people management, more escalations, way more!!). So when I was asked whether I would want to stay (my speciality would be missing in Europe, with all major companies having a license for the product area my team supported), I declined.
I have a 7 months notice period (yes, that's Germany), but I don't have to work that time. I have been put on garden leave till 31st January 2021. That's a very long vacation :)

And after that probably two years of unemployment, 9 months no job, and then definitely retirement. But that is still far away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.