Sculpture by Hap Sakwa

In Hammond Autowerks where I had to go this morning to get the battery replaced in my key. Many of the 'charms' found on this heart are commonly seen in the Santuario de Chimayo, a major pilgrimage site near Santa Fe New Mexico. It is said to contain 'holy dirt' which has remarkable curative powers. Visitors often leave these small hands, feet, hearts and other pilgrim charms representing body parts in need of healing. 

On the rare occasions when I drive my car anywhere these days, the requirements for things to take with me have changed to masks, hand sanitizers and disinfectant and I always forget once critical things like my phone or my camera. Mrs Hammond took this picture for me and sent it. I have tried, not very skillfully, to remove the office furniture and containers of Clorox wipes as well as the light panels and asbestos tile ceiling, so the background is less distracting if not exactly artistic

There are so many things in our country that need healing right now that this seemed like an appropriate image, although it may be some time before I ever get to Chimayo again.  

I'm working on another quilt. You can see the first square in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.