Visitors

Larry the PT was here this morning and we rode the nearest elevator down to the garage floor.  I'd tried getting into the garage yesterday and had a great deal of difficulty dealing with the heavy fire door, going in and even more coming back out.  I had to catch myself to keep from falling.  So I thought Larry might have some ideas about how I could do it more safely.  Turns out I can't.  So in order to get into the garage I'll have to take the main elevator, the one that's all the way down the hall, to the garage and walk back to the recycling dumpsters, then walk back to the elevator, take it up to the 5th floor and walk all the way down the hall again.  That's a long walk on my shaky leg.  So I'll have to have someone else do that for me.  Next week will be my last session with Larry.

Doug came by later, having picked up a prescription for me.  He did a bit of furniture moving for me to make a wider path in front of the bike so I can move the walker past it on the way to the window.  And we just sat and chatted for a while;  it was so good to have someone here to talk to and I really enjoy his company.  One of the things I'll miss about the home health care ending is my contacts with friendly, thoughful folks like Larry and Alyssa, my shower aide.  They made me feel less isolated.

My Email inbox was flooded with messages from every organization I have any connection to, all relating to actions that can be taken to support the effort to end racism. I have to sort through them to figure out how I can best help.  If I had financial resources, there are a number of organizations doing really good work that need support, but my income is just enough to keep me going.   I'm signing petitions and sending Emails to legislators, but it doesn't feel like nearly enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.