For me, such a good day

You can imagine that it is hard to focus nowadays. I've been working on a proposal that I considered to be the worst I've ever written. Fortunately, the review from the person I had edit it was that it was clear and direct with no flowery language. Flowery language is fine but the important thing is that it be clear and direct and convincing so I guess it was better than I thought it was. 

I put the toy on top of eggs, all in the old nest in my yard, and then played around with the contrast and shadows in Luminar.  

People do not give up advantage or power willingly. We don't make social progress without suffering. The platitude that, "violence never solved anything" feels very reassuring, it feels like the way we wish the world was, but it is wrong. The gay rights movement began with a brick because gays were tired of being rounded up and arrested and outed and one night they  fought back. HIV only became important because the group Act Up acted up. Women got the right to vote after protesters were imprisoned and force-fed and beaten. Apartheid didn't end in South Africa because people sat and held hands and sang songs. I don't pretend to know that things will turn out ok, but they were not ok before. The only way they will get better is if people rise up. So we have a chance, but it is an ugly process. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.