Day of rest

The job I really wanted to do today was to demolish an ugly cupboard built into the one of the chimney-breast alcoves in my bedroom then move a chest of drawers into the space. But it's Sunday, I've worked flat out for weeks and my hands need a rest. I promised them a rest. 

But first, a quick and easy job that will enable me to relax in the sun: repairing the table that came apart at a joint yesterday. There, done. 20 minutes. 

Time for a rest, but first, just quickly dead-head those roses above the table. 10 minutes and I've done all the ones I can reach so, since I'm next to the apple tree I'll just rip a bit more ivy out of its branches. Right, that'll do for Sunday.

But it's ever so frustrating having my tools dispersed all over the house and shed and not knowing where to find them - why don't I quickly put up that tool rack in the cupboard under the stairs, then they'll all be in the same place? There, easy - that doesn't need to be a beautiful job but the wall is so crumbly I'd probably better polyfill around the rawl plugs. And since I've got the Polyfilla out, why don't I just fill that place where the bathroom tiles came off. The whole bathroom will be demolished in six months, but I'd rather no more tiles fell into the bath in the meantime. There. Done. Time for a rest. Oh, look at that shelf. It'll only take a moment to put two screws in the loo wall and hang that. Ever so quick and easy. I wonder how easy it'd be to remove that vile loo-roll holder while I'm here... Ah, that easy. And my own plain one needs only two screws and since I've got the screws and screwdrivers out let's just get that job done. Right, time for a rest.

Rest. How do you do that?

Y'know, perhaps I could just look at how to take apart that alcove cupboard I'm not doing today, ready for tomorrow. Just so I know what the job will involve. Tomorrow. Ah - a lot of screws. Well I could take out the easy ones. 

And the not-so-easy ones - WD40 is wonderful stuff. Only one left. Ooh that's hard. Can't even begin to turn that one. But as it's the only one left if I sit on the top of the cupboard it's bound to come out. No? Wish I had a crowbar, but I could gouge around it with a screwdriver - the plaster's very crumbly. There - there's a hole all round it. How interesting that the screw's still not coming out. That brick is next door's bedroom. Well, they probably wouldn't mind if I gave it just one whack with a hammer. Wow - the screw has sheared. That must be very hard brick. Anyway, job done. It wouldn't take too long just to take the bits of cupboard downstairs and swing the chest of drawers into place. 

Great. Nice gap under the window now. I think the desk in the front room would fit better there. Not too heavy - it's in three pieces and I can just slide it over the carpet. But before I do that, since I've got access to the window, I'll just take down the net curtain and the ugly roller blind.

Ah, no, the desk somehow doesn't really look good there. Do I even want that desk? I know I spent hours sanding it before I moved, but, but... 

Anyway, there's space in the big bedroom now to move the filing cabinet and that other set of drawers and rest the long shelves between them to make a work surface. I'll have to empty the filing cabinet then put all the stuff back afterwards but that won't take too long. Fantastic! It'll be worth finding my sewing machine tomorrow and setting that up.

Sewing machine - Oh Lordy its dark! Perhaps I should make time to eat some lunch...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.