The Great Tits Have Fledged

I spent the morning sorting out bird food and getting rid of empty boxes. I did a lot of tidying in the conservatory, which was becoming a place to leave things instead of putting them away!
 
After lunch I worked on stuff on my computer including finding a suitable photograph to use as a background for Zoom. I have several pictures of the garden sorted out; it is just a matter of deciding which one to use. Using a photograph for the background cuts out the necessity of finding a suitable place, which cuts out all the everyday books, plants etc., in the background.
 
Today’s picture is of the empty Great Tit’s nest. I thought they had fledged a couple of weeks ago as the parents stopped visiting the nest box. I left it a while just to make sure. When I looked today the nest was empty so a successful batch. I took a picture of it in the box, but it was not very clear, so when I removed it, I took another picture. The box has now been cleaned and maybe we will get a second brood this year. We have a lot of nests in the garden as we can see the birds flying around with food in their mouths. There is definitely a Robin’s nest on one of our boundary hedges, but I have not been able to pinpoint where it is. Great Tits and Blue Tits are also feeding young somewhere in the garden. Mrs Pheasant has disappeared so I assume that as Mr Pheasant still visits, she is sitting on eggs; maybe she will bring them to visit.
 
The temperature was eighteen degrees Celsius at GMT noon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.