Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

Dad's Cookies

We haven't had a reported case of Covid in our city for over three weeks and so as the restaurants are beginning to open, a friend of mine and I decided to meet for breakfast.

Readers, it felt surreal. Wonderful. Giddy even.

We sat and talked of life and church work and ate breakfast together.  We asked about one another's families and how our churches are doing in this season and drank way too much coffee.

It felt way more awesome than I ever thought it would be.

After that I stopped at Safeway (I figured it was the safe way to do business...) to pick up a few supplies for our food pantry. As I was walking down the one aisle that I normally don't travel down because of the arrows on the ground telling me where to go, I came across these cookies that have been in my life since childhood.  I don't know if it was nostalgia or the giddy mood I was in, but I bought a box for just me, as Lauralea is unable to eat such luxuries.

The day began early as it often does these days, but I got much done today and that doesn't hurt the general good mood around here.

Plus I get a Dad's cookie for dessert later at supper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.