KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Peony

Oh I wish this peony was growing in my garden! But true confessions, it was in a bunch of peonies that I bought from a man down the street who sells bunches of flowers in front of his house. I love buying flowers from him! Since the farmers markets are hardly running full tilt, he has figured out how to still sell bunches of flowers - I think he's got quite the business going. I stopped there last Saturday (when I bought these) and he had fresh local strawberries and peas. Divine! It made me so happy to have these wonderful items, and to support him and his family as well.

So there weren't any interesting visitors to my garden this afternoon, although it's a gorgeous day. I spent the day working on my "remote" plant ID class. It's now grown so big that they asked me to teach two sections of it this summer. Which is easier than it sounds because it's exactly the same content. Just twice as many students. Ish. 

But back to the peony. I took it out of the bunch, put it in a vase by itself and took it out to the garden. Not to fool you, mind you, but so that I could catch some good light. You might notice the drippy bits - a run through the hose on the way to the garden. But it's a stunner isn't it? Check out that incredibly frilly center...positively screaming for pollinators!

Hope you've all had lovely days. Things are feeling just a wee bit lighter here in western Oregon, despite the protests. The sun is shining and I'm even going to the dentist for a teeth cleaning tomorrow!

Be well and stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.