About to turn

By jMcLean

Bee a Reader

Our library is now open for picking up holds! I had an appointment this evening at 6:00, meaning I drove up, called the number posted on the large sign, and explained myself. Moments later a masked librarian brought out this cheerful bag, waved, and left it on a table for me to retrieve. This was very exciting; in normal days I spend a great deal of time at our library. When I got home I tore through it to see what books I'd placed on hold back in March.

W. and I walked tonight on the W&OD trail west of Leesburg. There was a beautiful band of peach light over the Blue Ridge, which faded as we walked. It was hot, having barely cooled from our high of 93 (34), and sticky to boot. We saw a deer and a rabbit and a very hazy moon, and heard crickets and bullfrogs, before I was ready to call it quits. 

Have now watered the garden in the near-dark. I watered a toad and only realized it when he hopped. There's a chance of thunderstorms tomorrow, and I hope sincerely that it pans out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.