Rodents rule

By squirk

In bloom

There are two flowers blooming on my golden celebration rose. It's the first time it's flowered in the garden after I planted it last year. It lives! The second bloom can be seen through the window behind a sleeping Juno in the extra photo. I can see both flowers from my desk.

The grey and the rain has made it a duller day for photography and have outside tea breaks, but I've had the added bonus of Juno being inside on his cushion, something that hasn't happened since the warm weather.

Today's treat was toasted cheese croissants from the local cafe. Nom. While I was there, I got some eggs – you bring an old egg box and fill it up, thus saving on a bit of packaging.

At 5.30, we watched Bernadine Evaristo on At Home With Penguin, a weekly live videocast from an author. I have Girl, Woman, Other on my TBR (To Be Read) bookcase, so I dug it out and I'll read it sooner than later. I like the way she spoke about her characters and her writing. 

The post-work walk was a small suburban one down a couple of streets that we hadn't walked down before. 

After an episode of Space Force, we wound down by watching this – a trek through Torres del Paine in Chile. Fred's completed both the walks. I did the second one with him from 14.11 minutes in until that wonderful view of the towers, seen in my backblip from 2006. We share a great memory from the day before – walking down a hillside path to the campsite, a condor soared down the valley beside us a little below our eye level. It's one of the best photos I never took!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.