Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Ways to feel better ...

A busy-feeling day, as Thursdays seem to have worked out to be. My shopping angel made an early start and was in the shop, without queuing, before I was even properly awake; the gardener was cutting my grass while I was brushing my hair ... but at least I managed to be outside to meet the shopping, even though I was clutching my second mug of breakfast tea. We stood in the rain and - worse - the midges, chatting as usual, till both became unbearable. 

What else? I started yet another sourdough loaf, this time experimenting with a recipe I had back in 2007, and made  carrot and ginger soup with some elderly carrots I found in the fridge when I was putting the new veg away. And while I ate lunch I read an online piece about stretching and folding the dough to make it stronger. (I know).

But the sun had appeared and the rain seemed to have gone away for a bit, so we headed to a walk we've not been on since March, along the River Eachaig and on round Benmore Gardens to walk along the far side of Loch Eck. For once the loch was looking blue rather than black, and I took the above photo for a friend (Hugh - are you reading this?) who has a static van in a site almost opposite where we walked to and is badly missing his weekends here. There were flowers, and scents, and birdsong - and a couple of what I think were jays chasing each other out of a rhododendron. But the most joyous bit for me was seeing the red squirrels again - I've not seen any since Benmore Gardens closed under the restrictions. There were at least two of them and probably more; one scampered off up a tree when we came along the road and made that incredible clicking noise that squirrels make when they're annoyed (or something). The other, however, was too keen on the peanuts in a feeding box on the tree trunk, and I was able to take several photos and videos. I'll post one as an extra.

The last laugh came from watching magpies annoying some sheep by perching on their backs. The lambs were especially unwilling to accommodate them, and bucked like a bronco to throw them off. We drove home in high good humour. I reckon you could say I'm not feeling grumpy tonight.

But I still have to deal with that dough and its overnight repose in the fridge ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.