fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Homage

Having seen Peter Hook live a couple of weeks ago and then finishing his book about Joy Division this week, I'm a bit caught up with his old band at the moment. And that includes Kevin Cummins' incredible photographs of the band, particularly this one.

This morning, on the way back from swimming with Dan and Abi, I thought I'd create my own homage, despite lacking snow and a band. I did have a bridge - one I could borrow, at least - and some decent light and a couple of models, though!

I asked Dan and Abi to walk up to the highest point on Devil's Bridge so that I could photograph them, which they duly did. However, I think this shot, taken as they were walking up, best captures the attitude of the subjects of Cummins' original. They're not posing or, indeed, paying any attention to the camera. Here, Abi is looking upriver while Dan tries to chivvy her along. A perfect natural moment captured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.