Darkness at noon

.... and then, about five minutes later we had glorious blue sky. Crazy.

Plan was that I would start my occasional series of photos of 'Beastly Norwich' today, as I had to go into the city to change my library books and that I would start with a photo of Cow Hill. Try as I may, I could not make a photo of Cow Hill look remotely interesting. It's not a hill, but a sloping street with some rather nice 'town houses' running down it.

The Lodger lived in one of them for a couple of years, with several friends until the owner decided to sell. It was a fabulous place, on three floors plus a cellar, and if you stepped out of window of the bedroom at the very top of the house you could stand on the roof and get stunning views over the city. At the opposite side to the houses on Cow Hill is a church, and the peal of bells early on a Sunday morning used to drive The Lodger and the other housemates mad. And then there was bell-ringing practice on a weekday evening .....

So, instead, we have the Catholic church of St John. The only beastly thing about it being the gargoyles, of which there are many.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.