Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

A bright but windy day and I had the pleasure of looking after Bronte for a few hours. We enjoyed a tour around Stover but saw nothing of note.

The sky gradually cleared through the afternoon so I planned a full moon blip from Teignmouth at 9.30pm

Earlier in the day I bumped into the farmer who owns the 'forgotten field' where I saw all the deer a few evenings ago. She is quite happy for me to go there any time so I took a detour before my planned blip.

The light on the long grass is so beautiful in the evening -1st extra and with the village way down in the valley behind the trees, it is wonderfully quiet.
This time I walked down through the woods on the side of the field and managed to get closer to one doe before she took off doing an  impression of a carousel animal.
I spent a while carefully looking around for fawns but, apart from a few areas of flattened grass, about the size and shape of the newborns, I didn't find any.
By now the sun had disappeared behind thick black clouds and by the time I got back to the car, it was raining.
Heading home I saw the outline of a deer in another field and as I watched, 2 fawns were running about.
My main has captured the doe with one of her young. It was really 'dimpsy'
( a Devon word for dusk) by this time so it works better as a mono.

Apparently Roe deer have 2 fawns, one male, one female in May/June so my hunt for Bambi will continue

Day total 5 miles
Year total 475.4 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.