The Riddle of the Sands

A classic novel by Erskine Childers. In it he vividly describes the ever changing movements of coastal sandbanks and channels. In his case off the north German Coast. I think I have the Folio Society edition.

It comes into my mind when I am looking out over the sands of Morecambe Bay. The ever changing combinations of tides, winds and river flow result in fascinating changes in the sands. They are never the same twice. I was attracted to this perfect arc in the sands this morning.

It shows the power of nature. But the observant will see the two boxes on the horizon. There it is humans who control even more complex natural forces.
No doubt they have helped to charge the batteries of camera and iPad and powered the wi-fi which is sending my little shot round the world.Amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.