Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Method

Not so long ago I was asked how many coloured threads I work with at any one time. The answer is one and the purpose of this image is to demonstrate my method.
I got farther with this today than I had imagined I would, and kept going as light faded just so that I could complete this image. That is why the fourth picture in the sequence is not lit as well as the preceding three.
I know that there are some of you who think I should restrict my palette to these soft colours, but that is precisely why I have made so many experimental samples before embarking on the huge work. You will either have to take my word for it or wait and see when it's a lot larger than it is now; because it is a large piece which will hang on a wall and be viewed from a distance, if I don't introduce some bold statement colours to punctuate it, it will resemble the mauve felt of a tumble-dryer filter in need of refreshment.
In thinking about my colour selection I realise that they fall rather neatly into the categories of Earth, Air, Fire and Water, well, almost. You'll see.

I took time off at 1pm to watch another silly black-and-white movie with my lovely DM chums. We are all in isolation and the films are freely available for anyone to watch at any time on YouTube, but it's rather nice that we all watch the same movie at exactly the same time and then talk about it when it has finished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.