Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Imperfect beauty

Tis Gail's birthday tomorrow (21 again....).
I wasn't going to pass on the opportunity to blip selections from the basket of flowers I collected this morning. I suspect you will be seeing a number of these over coming days so I'll apologise now for the bombardment of flower images now.

I tried doing a panorama of focus stacked images but my technique needs a bit more work yet. Hopefully you will see one of those soon.

Today it's just a twenty image focus stack using helicon remote and helicon focus to create this super sharp image of just part of one flower (I wish I knew what kind of flower it was - am sure someone will tell me).

The shots were taken using a tripod with white card as reflectors on the left and a SW facing window on the right (before the sun got around that far).

Helicon Remote is quite friendly to use as you have (with most cameras) control of all the camera functions from the pc. Select the nearest focus point, how many images you want and let it do the rest. This was taken at f10 but even then the DoF is not massive at this level of enlargement hence the focus stack to get everything pin sharp.

Export the images into the stacking tool and watch the magic appear.
From Helicon focus it was dropped into PS just to apply a small amount of curves just to tweak the darker parts up a little. Change from Adobe RGB to sRGB colour space (so it displays more faithfully on browsers that don't have colour management, for example on iPads but which conform to sRGB standards more or less) and save to JPEG and there you have it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.