Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Flowers pano

A further attempt at creating a panorama (well, a stitched image) from several focus stacked images to create a large detailed image from the flowers used in yesterday's blip.

Not entirely 100% there yet, but I think this is quite impressive. I've previously done quite a few flowers that are really nice and soft with very small DoF. This is quite the opposite.

I did 4 groups of 10 stacked images, but due to the fact that I had the tripod head at a slight angle, I could't resolve all the images in a straight line. As a consequence I couldn't get an image that was tall enough to capture as much as I wanted after it had been stitched. Instead, I chose just three of the four groups. It was quite late before I started due to being out at Jonathan's football match (lots of mud and water) and light was going fast. I opted instead to use just three of the four groups so that the crop lost less of the content. Good but not quite as I had hoped.

I hadn't noticed the stalk and leaf at the top left which is distracting and I missed out a really nice flower off the left, but, overall, this has come out ok.

I can see that you could easily spend a whole day setting up and creating an image such as this. For best effect I think using a flash setup is needed as well - that reduces your shooting speed a little for the flashes to recycle but the exposure is no longer a problem compared to the constantly changing daylight. Tis all a creative challenge.

Press "L" to leap in to the petals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.