Oak Leaf Hydrangea

Dana and Jim brought Blake over to spend some time with us this morning. Since all four of them are at home all the time, he hasn’t needed to come here, and we miss him! Fortunately they are happy to share him. He’s grown up quite a lot, if sleeping most of the day is a sign of maturity!
While we were sitting outside drinking coffee and discussing how much longer we would need to sit outside, I noticed how pretty this oak leaf hydrangea is looking right now.

We sat outside at Kathy and MIke's house last night eating dinner and discussing a quilt project. Kathy offered to buy the quilt I just finished for her daughter for her birthday next month. I told her that I had promised that one to my brother and his wife, but that I would be happy to make another one for her daughter. Quilts are funny things things. They take a lot of time to make...so much time , in fact , that it would be impossible to charge enough money for one, which is why I have always considered them labors of love and given them away. I know Kathy appreciated that fact, but I didn't want to charge her for something that was keeping me busy, even if I had any idea how much to charge her. 

I think we reached a good conclusion. I am making a quilt for Kathy and she is making donations to the local food bank and a group called Color of Change, a nonprofit  civil rights advocacy organization, formed after Hurricane Katrina. 

I forgot to find out when her daughter's birthday is in July, but I'm going to have to get my skates on to get something done in time. Especially as I am still forced to use what I have. and am kind of designing it as I go along....I'm putting a picture of the boxes of fabrics in extras. They've been joined by a couple more since I took that picture. I hope Stephanie likes patterns!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.