Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Lens test

Well, really a new camera test, but I'm interested in whether the Nikon 1 (range) is a serious option. I find it increasingly difficult to carry large and heavy camera kits, and Micro 4/3 offers excellent image quality with the latest 16M sensors, an excellent range of lenses, and very compact and light, and an excellent user interface.

So how does the Nikon 1 match up? Well, I find image quality not as good (unsurpising, given the sensor size etc, though acceptable for the way I use most of my images), and the user interface is very restrictive, and relies too much on menus, access to which is slow. Of course, current Nikon 1 models are hugely over-priced, but sell-offs of previous models are if anything under-priced!! This is an issue with many cameras, but it seems particularly obvious in the case of the Nikon 1.

Lens performance is also an issue, especially as there are some superb Micro 4/3 lenses. I shot this image because of the horizontal lines (actually I'd have cropped them out otherwise), and after my initial import into Lightroom they were horrible, but after setting the right lens correction they looked like this: I have no complaints.

Motivated by a new camera, a wonderful location, and good light, I had, by my standards, a very successful day.

PS: Shot at the BCLM of course, and sorry that the rider in the 1930's poster is not wearing a helmet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.