BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 77

Imprisonment - Day seventy seven
Saturday 6th June 2020

Cars - 12
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 2
Dog walkers - 0
Walkers - 0
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 7.0c

Another rotten morning which was even colder and more blustery than yesterday. Its certainly put paid to all the fine weather people with only a couple of bikes and a bedraggled runner out for exercise. One of the cyclists was Crossover Man who must be back at work as I've not seen him during the week. Our paths only crossed once and at this sighting he was fast disappearing round a bend. When I cycled passed the fallen tree there were three men gazing up at the jagged remains of the broken limb. I presume that the tree will be surgically removed as efficiently as they delt with the bough. Time will tell.

It was so cold in the Motor House I had to put the heaters on as you can't sew with cold hands and in any event its miserable if it's cold. Well I managed to finish the passenger door upholstery but it took most of the day as I covered the brass half round bar with leather and stuck a bit more Velcro on areas I thought needed bolstering up. Fitting the door handle took the most time as I had to extend the thread as my upholstery is a lot thicker than the original. I therefore cut part of the old thread off and welded on an old bolt to extend it. Then by trial and error I cut it to size to fit the new panel. I then tidied up the edges and sat back and admired my work. I think it looks good but it is in dire need of use to make it look used and blend in with the rest of the car. A six week trip of living and camping in the car is just what it needs to age it gracefully.

After I'd finished I tidied up the Motor House as it surprising how many tools you need to do the simplest of jobs and try as I might I cannot make myself put tools away the minute I've finished with them. If I do put a tool away when I've finished with it then almost certainly I will need it again a second later. Anyway the deck is clear to start work on the drivers side tomorrow which should be easier as there is no drivers door on a Bentley as the gear lever and handbrake are in the way on the right hand side.

I finished my work early because at six fifteen I had a Zoom Bentley Drivers Club Committee Meeting. This meeting went well and it still amazes me that one of the participants was in Silicone Valley in America and it was just as if he was like the rest of us in good old England. Oh course we did not let this meeting get in the way of Prosecco Saturday as we chatted glass and nibbles in hand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.