BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 78

Imprisonment - Day seventy eight
Sunday 7th June 2020

Cars - 11
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 5
Dog walkers - 0
Walkers - 0
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 7.2c

I saw Crossover Man twice today. The three fella's I saw yesterday looking up at the tree did indeed surgically remove all its branches leaving just stumpy bits protruding from its crown and yes they did tidy it all up just as they'd done before. I also saw three cyclists riding together without a care for social distancing. Is anybody apart from Ros and me keeping their distance.

The drivers side of the Bentley was a blank canvas as I started work on its upholstery. I started with the fiddly hard to get at leather work behind the gear leaver and handbrake. I had to cut a piece of leather from my new hide as I'd made a bit of a mistake yesterday and had to use the old hide I'd got earmarked for this job for something else. I cut a piece slightly larger than needed and was going to use the original as a pattern but then thought it best to cut it when it was in situ on the side of the car. So I started to glue it from the bottom and work my way up to the top. It was a bit like wallpapering as I made my way upwards. I love working with leather it's so pliable strong and forgiving far better than wall paper. The tricky bits were at the top but I was able to look at the way they'd done it with the old piece and copy it to some degree cutting a bit here and there until a good fit was thankfully obtained. When doing this type of thing you have to carry on regardless and if it doesn't work you have to be prepared to scrap it and start again. On this occasion it went well and by lunchtime the area was nicely and neatly covered in leather. After lunch I carried on and did the padded upholstery to the right of the front bench seat. This was a doddle as I'd cut it out and sewed it some weeks ago so it only needed the foam to be inserted and the seams sown. By now it was half past three and time for tea and cake. After a bit of tidying up I had an hour to spare before our Sunday Family Skype so I decided to run up a leather bag to keep my Bentley travelling overalls in. This too went well with just a few bits of velcro to add which I will do tomorrow.

It was good to Skype the family as we had not been in touch at all this week. Ashley was the roving reporter as he spoke to us from his car on the way back from playing golf. He said he hadn't played well but his opponent was even worse so Ashley came out on top as usual. Hayden Astra Nevan and Ari were as wild as ever. Hayden said his website Trade my Boat was up and running and he had managed to get two people who were advertising their boats on Facebook to put their advertisements his sight in the hope that they would drum up more business.

Later on we Skyped my brother Clive and his wife Anne for a catch up chat.

Imprisonment is still going fine I've got no inkling to go out and I'm still happy doing work on the Bentley but a lot of our friends seem to miss to going out and meeting people. I'm afraid I can't be bothered to meet up in someone's garden at a distance of six feet for a cup of tea especially in this 'orrible weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.