Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

Where the Water Falls

This is another popular beauty spot which I usually aim to avoid unless I can be certain it won’t be busy. I thought it might be less frequented today, given that the weather was predicted to be less than settled. I was however, wrong!

What used to be an oasis for exploration (for those in the know) has now become a lockdown tourist trap, complete with one-way system & warning tape.

I was bemused & befuddled by the range of ‘straight-out-of Topshop’ outfits on display & the hopeful photography geeks, lugging their huge tripods & Uber-zooms along the rather slippy & precarious paths & steps; each of us having to wait our turn to cross the characteristic little bridges & stand in the clutches of the immense spray being omitted by this pretty spectacular natural phenomenon. It was (I wholeheartedly acknowledge) beautiful but let’s just say, I won’t be rushing back too soon!

I handled a couple of things badly today.

In hindsight, I should’ve been more intuitive regarding a rather nasty wrist injury of my Mum’s. This is easier said than done however, against the stoicism & desire to satisfy the needs & requirements of everybody else before her own- & I say this out of admiration; not from a point of criticism.

I also realise I have reneged on an agreement I made with myself for the sake of self-preservation & I need to remind myself to stand firm against swaying too far from this personal accord.

(What was the old adage?... “give them an inch & they’ll take a mile?...)

So, to summarise today’s musings: metaphorically speaking, the water will probably keep on flowing; sometimes steadily & sometimes with rampant & uncontrollable buoyancy but I absolutely should remind myself that I don’t have to take a shower in it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.