KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Quiet Day

We did go for our Sunday morning walk in the arboretum before the rain. In fact we were earlier than usual and only saw one other person. 

I made a big pot of Mexican chicken soup when we got home - basically cleaned out the veggies in the fridge and added some zesty Mexican seasonings - very pleased with the results. Then onto the never-ending preparation for my remote plant ID class. But I got the BEST news this afternoon! I'd asked my favorite nursery if they'd be willing to "partner" with me on this class, and they have agreed! They will set the ten plants that we study each week on their own table with signage for each plant and for the project. They'll also have an adjacent table with multiples of the plants for sale for their customers and my students if they wish. They'll also provide a quiet place for me to video the plants as I talk about them (which will get uploaded to my course website). And help me "curate" the plant lists so that we can study the plants that are best sellers, or meet criteria like deer or drought resistance, or are trending in the industry. My students will be able to go to the nursery and actually see and touch the plants since the campus is closed to us this summer. I am hugely grateful and very much relieved!

Meanwhile, very unsettled weather this afternoon - it rained, sun shone, poured, sunny....I did sneak out to the garden after the last downpour - I think the sunflowers grew 6" overnight - and finally caught "Rosie the Riveter" - my gorgeous addition to my new backyard garden - in a good mood for portrait taking :-)

Hope you've all had lovely and healthy weekends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.