MONO MONDAY - BAR

Although Mr. HCB and I like the occasional drink, we don’t have that much in the house, so I had to think “outside the box” for today’s MM challenge.  I found something in our spare bedroom and was photographing it in the kitchen when Mr. HCB came up behind me to see what I was doing, so I asked his opinion.  Mmmmm - he wasn’t impressed with what I was doing and suggested instead a “crowbar” and said he had one in the garage.

To be honest, I thought a shot of a crowbar on its own would be extremely boring, but thought that if I could persuade my wonderful model to “strike a pose” as if he were using the crowbar, that would be much better.  Mr. HCB was not convinced so I had to promise that the fees would be much higher than normal!!

So here is Mr. HCB in all his glory, with his designer trousers, complete with hat, levering up - or rather pretending to lever up a paving slab in the garden - I just wish it was a video, because he was mumbling and muttering under his breath all the time I was taking the shots.

I then went for a walk round my field, singing as I went, so although my legs are still very sore, I do need to keep moving.  After a circuit round the field, I went over to the Richard Jefferies Museum, (part of my Swindon Street Challenge four years ago) because we had seen on our way home yesterday that the poppies outside the wall were looking rather splendid.  This warm weather has definitely helped the poppies this year - I have put a shot in as an extra and they look beautiful with the grey wall in the background and the new thatch on the roof behind that.

I was looking for a quote that mentions a crowbar and this seemed appropriate today after the happenings in different parts of the world yesterday:

“When individuals get crowbars 
     and start prying open doors to loot, 
          they’re not protesting, 
               they’re not making a statement, 
                    they’re stealing. 
When they burn down a building, 
     they’re committing arson and 
          they’re destroying and undermining 
               businesses and opportunities 
in their own communities 
     that rob jobs and opportunity 
          from people in that area…..”
Barack Obama - 28 April 2015
After rioting and looting in Baltimore

P.S.  Thank you so much for the beautiful card I received this morning from a fellow Blipper - you know who you are - this is such a wonderful community;  thanks again to everyone who has sent me good wishes over the last few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.