Mono Monday: Week 333 .....

... not.

I noticed last night that one of the overwintered Eastern black swallowtail butterfly chrysalids was getting darker.  This is usually a sign that they are going to be eclosing (emerging) soon ... usually the next morning. 

After my shower I checked on the enclosure that we keep in the sunroom.  He hadn't emerged yet but I thought it wouldn't be long.  I took some pictures of the darkening chrysalis and thought I would post that for Mono Monday.  But later on when he finally did emerge (1:30PM!) I took some more shots of him with the macro lens ... this is one of those photos.  I thought about converting to mono but just didn't have the heart!  After 8 months in his chrysalis I thought he deserved to be in full color!! He is the third out of seven chrysalids that we overwintered! Four to go!

Please view large.


Pennsylvania COVID-19 by the numbers (as of 12:45 PM today 06/08/20):
Positive cases in Pennsylvania  - 75,943* (an increase of 351)
Negative cases in Pennsylvania - 451,387
Number of deaths in Pennsylvania - 5,953 (an increase of 10)
Cases in Northampton County -  3,168 (231 deaths)

* Total case counts include confirmed and probable cases.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.