stuartjross

By stuartjross

The Grey Corries

My planning for this week went wrong when the client had to postpone (on Friday) my intended survey today.
The forecast was good, I would be parking just 2.4km from my front door, though perhaps a 15 mile walk, never more tham 6 miles from home and it is essential exercise. The Grey Corries ticked all the boxes.

Again, Caley knew something exciting was in store but I at least managed to get him to have his breakfast.

Right at the start I saw two mountain runners but that was it. We had this beautiful range to ourselves. Walking clockwise has the walker doing the highest of several peaks first but it certainly isn't all down hill after that. Walking the ridge east to west has the profile of Ben Nevis and high neighbours in forward view and it is a breath taking skyline. Though now early summer broad rims of cornice and snow fields remain and provided water and general cooling for Caley. I saw several Ptarmigan, rarely seen below 3000 feet, (a cropped extra) and Golden Plovers..
Caley must have put out a terrific amount of energy. He's not a greedy dog but was clearly craving calories and I think he had half of my cheese and oatcakes and the cores of my pear and apple.
The Grey Corries massif could be likened to a vast four seater sofa with dividing arms facing north. The descent is down the far left arm and you join a forest track mid way between Intakes 6 and 7. It feels like a long slog in the low level heat back to the car.

It might leave me exhausted but I will never tire of this walk.

A hundred extras  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.