An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Boring Flower Shot...

But it's all I can muster after the week from hell that keeps teasing us by showing signs of ending only to continue in similar vain.

Alan is better than he was but that's not saying much as he's been pretty bad.

This week my brave wee soldier has been battling a horrific ear infection that has left him in agony as well as giving him toothache. He's had a urine infection AND the most horrible cold. And as if that wasn't bad enough, the antibiotics have triggered a flare up of his ulcerative colitis so he has an upset stomach and pain from that too. He's not been eating so hasn't been able to take any of us usual medication for the colitis as it's dispensed in his food.

Yesterday we thought we'd turned a corner as I managed to persuade him to eat a tin of ravioli. It took an hour and a half to get it inside him and felt like a huge victory and he had a more settled night (although he's still insisting on sleeping in his wheelchair).

This morning when he woke up he was really upset and we discovered the antibiotic hasn't just triggered his colitis flare up, it as also given him a really bad case or oral thrush. I just want to weep for him but that's not very practical is it.

So we have gel to put on his tongue. Not easy when he still has a very strong, involuntary bite reflex so I can't just rub the gel on his tongue with my finger. So far we have used a very soft baby toothbrush to put it on. I really hope it starts to work soon as he's now hungry but finding to too sore to eat.

And all through this he still managed to give me a wee smile today. My little Hero.



PS Thanks for all your lovely messages on my last blip and on FB. I will get round to responding when things settle down. Will also backblip but don't hold your breath.....the pics are crap!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.