Feather (again)

Some recent camera models offer automatic, in-camera focus stacking.  My traditional DSLR doesn't offer such technology, so I have to do all the work myself (with the help of software, of course).

In the past I have always done focus stacking on a tripod, adjusting the lens focus between shots.  I know the alternative is to keep the lens focus fixed and use a focussing rail to move the camera further from, or closer to, the subject between shots.  However I don't possess a focussing rail.

However, this morning I caught a live demo of focussing by handholding the camera and gradually changing its distance from the subject with the shutter firing continually.  I thought I'd give it a go.  (I suspect a few other blippers might also try it today or in the next few days:  I recognised several names watching the stream.)

The result is fairly successful (and the taking stage is a lot faster) but Photoshop still struggles with the fine detail. There are patches between the fronds (if that is the right word) of the feather which are blurred because PS has failed to choose the sharp background for those areas.

Still, an interesting experiment (which used up far too much of my day).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.