Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Say Cheese

Down at the marsh again. It is closer to my home so  handy for an early morning walk and a late evening walk. Perfect.

It was a little 'slow' and very hot so I had decided to make the trek back to the car when I spotted a bird flying in to land near me.  In extras, you will see the bird that I was thrilled to see!  Not often that one will hang around long enough for me to photograph it.

However, as I was trying to jockey into a better position to get a clear shot of the heron, I saw a dark shape walk past me. Startled me as my first thought was that it was a bear....a cub, perhaps...but a bear. Nope.  Just a friendly neighbourhood beaver that I have often photographed in the water.  I was shocked by the sheer size of it.  It was too close to get a photo (literally, I could have touched his back as he walked by!).  I did not want to move to get a photo as I did not want to startle the Green Heron.  Choices, choices.....

As I was sneaking up on the heron by walking across a fallen log, up popped this guy to check me out. Is it my imagination or is that a little cheeky smile?  Smiling for the camera perhaps...or laughing at me balancing on the log  ;)

Fun times!

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.