BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 80

Imprisonment - Day eighty
Tuesday 9th June 2020

Cars - 40
Motorbikes - 2
Bikes - 3
Dog walkers - 1
Walkers - 0
Runners - 2
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 9.8c

Thank goodness it was warmer this morning. The front tyre on my summer bike was flat again this morning. It may be a leaky valve again as I'd blown it up a day or so ago. So I blew the tyre up again and used my winer bike a d I'll see what tomorrow brings. I see few of the regular people these days but this morning I saw Ginger Dog who gave me a cheery good morning.

The days seem to be flying by. No sooner am I opening up the Motor House than I seem to be locking it up again for the night. I must be enjoying what I do .

Today started as yesterday with me rubbing down the bed head and just before I finished work I partially sprayed it with undercoat from a rattle can which highlights the blemishes which will need filling tomorrow. I then carried on with the little leather pocket which fits just above the handbrake. This little cubby hole holds the satnav and keeps it safely out of sight when not in use. In the end I more or less kept to the original design with some slight modifications but the whole thing is more solid and well made than it was before as It was something that I quickly threw together a few years ago. As I've said these little jobs eat up time but by lunchtime it was back in the car. While we were eating our lunch outside Jonathan the postman came and we had a chat. He delivered the magnetic buttons which I ordered for the flap which covers the passenger door cubby hole. I glued them to the upholstery with Evostik Time Bond which should hold them in place now that I'm using the magnets the wrong way round. If I'd fitted them correctly they would have been too fierce so the glue would not hold them. The way I've fitted them they will keep the flap closed but need little force to open it.

Next I started to raise the tool box lid by an inch. I was hoping to use part of the old lid but I'm afraid I'd made it too well with screws and glue so it would not come apart especially as I'd used steel screws which had rusted in solid. So I have completely rebuilt it with a blockboard top and plywood sides. It was so easy to find the wood in my perfectly organised greenhouse and in seconds I'd found just what I needed. I enjoy building things in wood as like leather it is a very forgiving medium as it will pull together even if your holes or cuts are not quite lined up. Metal on the other hand has to be exact or it won't fit. The lid is finished with a primer coat waiting to be covered in black ribbed rubber matting with aluminium angle to cover the joints. Another job for tomorrow. When I finished the lid and because I had all the tools out I quickly ran up a rack to keep my gasket paper etc neat and tidy on my work bench. It's yet another job I meant to do which never got done. At least not until today. I've decided I'm going to paint the Bentley jack bright red together with all the other equipment I need to change a wheel or remove a tyre this will help to make them visible when using them at the side of the road and hopefully stop me from driving off without them.

In the evening we had our monthly Austin Ten Drivers Club Skype Meeting. It was the usual five which attended and we had an enjoyable chat for nearly two hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.