BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 81

Imprisonment - Day eighty one
Wednesday 10th June 2020

Cars - 35
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 1
Dog walkers - 2 0
Walkers - 0
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 10.2c

Unfortunately it wasn't the valve not seating properly on my summer bike tyre as it was flat again this morning so I had to use my winter bike.

I fixed the puncture in no time as bike tyres are a lot easier to remove and refit than the Bentley's. I used a self adhesive patch for the repair which I'd bought from the pound shop. I must admit I didn't think it would work but I peeled the back off stuck it on refitted the tyre pumped it up and it was fine. So hopefully it will still be inflated by tomorrow morning.

I then moved on to repair the strap on one of Ros' handbags. It was a bad design which had become loose. I was going to make a new strap but it seemed easier to use the original one which I managed to glue with the old Timebond and it all fitted back together perfectly like new but how long it will last I don't know. Still Ros was pleased. I then got down to covering the Bentley tool box in the ribbed rubber matting. I used normal Evostik contact adhesive to use up the remains of a tin which was sent in error by an eBay seller who gave it me for free as he should have sent me Timebond. As the matting covered a reasonably large area this glue was easy to spread and did the job. I had just enough to stick all the matting. I then cut the flutted aluminium angle to fit the sides of the lid. I managed to reused some of the original angle so I did not use up all the lengths which I'd specially bought. Again it was a good day's work and everything went well. The final job was to screw the staple part of the hasp and staple to the lid and fit the toolbox on to the offside running board.

With this job done and the Bentley's tyre changing tools stowed away in the box I turned my attention to tidying up the Motor House as again I had used quite a lot of tools which needed to be put away.

During the afternoon the 1/8th inch aluminium rod arrived which I'm going to use for the leather piping on the dash. I spent the last hour of the day planning how I was going to carry out this operation. I also removed some remaining sharp edged tacks from the underside of the dash which had held the old original leather in place. I'm going to used Evostik Timbond again and these tacks would have been in the way.

I measured up what leather I needed and cut it from my new hide so tomorrow I can hit the ground running and get on and sew the leather round the aluminium to make the dashboard piping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.