Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

There is a trail that goes from Longmont to Boulder, about 15 miles.  I have ridden parts of it before but it's hard to follow.  It joins the roads in some places and the signs (if any) are easy to miss as to where it picks up again.  Anyway, today I managed to stay on the trail almost all the way to Boulder...until I reached an underpass where the trail was flooded.  So frustrating!  I knew I was fairly close to a nature preserve so I backtracked to the nearest cross street and used my phone navigation to find my way there.  After riding around the preserve and not seeing any wildlife, it was time to head back home.  I accidentally picked up the trail again so I thought I would ride back on it.  That lasted a short time until I lost it again so I gave up and rode back on the wide shoulder of a busy highway.  All of my twists and turns added distance and I ended up riding 38 miles.  I'm tired... but it's a good tired. :-)  I'm going to try to find a map of the trail before I try again!

The "mountain goats" in the top right of my collage are made of metal.  It's hard to see but the goat on top is wearing a mask and a sign below him says "Stay Safe".   The middle row shows three murals along the path.  The bottom left is a field that was full of wildflowers.  The middle is the Boulder Flatirons, a very popular hiking area.  There are several trails that lead to the various peaks.  The view from the top is spectacular.  I'm not sure I could do that hike anymore but I'm glad that I've done it!

I am grateful that PD urged me to get out for a ride today because the hot weather returns tomorrow.  I am so lucky to have such a supportive husband.  In all our years together he has always encouraged all my hobbies (and there have been many) even though he's not interested in participating in them.

Thank you to everyone who visited and left stars and hearts on my blips.  I really appreciate all of them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.