Chipmunk Post

Even the chipmunks realize how important the United States Post Office is to everyone in the States. Let's hope United States Congress can save it. Nora's daddy works for the Post Office and my great grandfather Will Hanson was the Postmaster in Machiasport, Maine among his many jobs of  teacher, local postcard photographer, general store owner and Maine State Representative. 

My brother just sent me this from the Post Office today Our house in Machiasport is right below the church, next to the one you can partially see. The original photograph this is based on was taken by Gramp Hanson.

The little green iron bank was one of my mother's childhood toys. The weather is humid and windy on the verge of a tempest as my grandmother Nora would say, today. I had to wait patiently for the scent of peanuts to draw customers to the mailbox to post their letters. 

Extra.. This little one was afraid after posting that there were not enough stamps on his envelopes!

For the Record,
This day came in humid, windy. Finally the skies have opened and it's pouring, hopefully washing the pollen away as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.