Further Tales from Bun Haven

Well, we have a yard full of bunnies this year, and it is just delightful. There are at least two little bunnies and as many as two or three larger rabbits. I see one or more of them almost anytime I go out.

"I'm going out to see if I can get a few pictures," I announced to my husband, as I grabbed my camera and walked out the front door. He followed along behind me as I headed into the backyard. "Is that your rabbit?" he asked, as we saw a little face popping up from behind the tree stump/slices.

And indeed it was! This is the rabbit we see the most often. We see it in the front yard and the back yard. It has a little line above its eyebrows that almost look like "bangs." And it is friendly enough that we can get pretty close. There are unbelievable levels of cuteness here.  :-)

As the evening waned on, we looked out the front windows to see TWO little bunnies, in tandem, grazing along the edge of the drive way, as though they were MOWING it together in an organized fashion. I looked out later to see one little bunny and one larger bunny. Not really together but not really apart.

Of course, it helps that my husband keeps the yard in immaculate condition. There are mowed parts and unmowed parts, and little trails off into the woods. The rabbits like to hang at the edges and eat the tender grasses. When spooked, the bunnies disappear down one of the little bunny trails.

There are about a half-dozen water stations that he keeps clean and full. And yes, he sometimes puts out a little tray of carrot slices.  "This must be Bun Haven!" I announced to my husband on this evening, as I watched the bunnies eat and play. And indeed it is. Oh, indeed it is.  :-)

Here is a song for the bunnies: REO Speedwagon, with Here With Me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.