"I'm a bit camera shy"

Friday 12th June 2020

No day off. Service this morning and a follow on service on Zoom this afternoon with children. 

I was rewarded late afternoon with the arrival of my new toy! I hold SueT123 totally responsible!!! My photography has outgrown the limits of my bridge camera and for a few years now I've felt the urge to have a DSLR. There were a number of reasons why that didn't happen - cost, portability etc. Sue upgraded her camera at Christmas and lent me her D90 to play with. She knew some of the things I wanted to do with a DSLR and kept telling me I'd be disappointed with the D90 and really needed to buy the same as her upgrade. I don't know how she did it but in a rash moment I decided to go for it. 

Today MY new D500 with 18-300 lens arrived! I still can't believe it. Well, I suppose I saved money on a May holiday this year among other things. If it lasts as long as Sue's D90 it's only the equivalent of a decent cup of coffee each week and you can't complain about that for your hobby can you! (I'm still trying to justify it to myself!)


I quickly unpacked it and went out for 1.5hrs around the local nature reserve. It was low light among the trees. I tried to test it in different ways. I didn't get stunning results but I did get some I liked. This one is heavily cropped and won its place on blip for cuteness. I've put one in the extras as well.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.