Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

The costs

Today I was finally able to visit a friend. His wife had a fall a month ago and is in the hospital where she can have no visitors. Not even him.

He was pretty glad to see me as he’s been so lonely.

I’m wondering about the effects of physical distancing. Loneliness, no one to talk with or to listen to you. Our Spiritual well being. The increased use of coping mechanisms. This may be helping people to stay safe from the virus, but killing us in other ways.

CBC News reports “BC Coroners Service said 170 people died of an illicit drug overdose in May, the highest total ever recorded for a single month in provincial history.”

I don’t know how to say this really and I don’t know how to do it practically, but it seems too easy just to shut down society without considering the whole cost.

I don’t know if there are better ways to do this but maybe afterwards we should think on it a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.