Saturday

We already passed Castle Hoensbroek at 8 o'clock. It is as far in distance as Maastricht, while it sounds much further away. Not much later we cycled through a very quiet Selfkant, Germany. I still remember our fruitless search for a suitable home years ago, but the lack of hills greatly influenced our choice. This time the lack of hills was the reason for our bike ride to the north. The Selfkant has a lot of charm. If you like a hill-free rural environment.

Next to the basilica of Sint Odilienberg we drank coffee from our break-proof thermos coffee mugs after which we have set course for Maasbracht.
Sluis Maasbracht is a complex of locks that form the transition between the Juliana Canal and the Maas. The locks have a drop of 11.85 meters, which is the greatest decline of all locks in the Netherlands. We have come past this complex twice last summer's holiday. I like the view of my blip. I become cheerful of the wideness of river and canal, as I cycle across the bridge, although the cheerful feeling may also be because I cycled all the way here. On my own strength.

We followed the canal as we cycled down south and we turned off at Geule aan de Maas to follow the Geul back home.

Perhaps we can cycle to Liège next weekend when the borders to Belgium are open again. That would be nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.