Stalker

Jasper is into week 2 inside. Last evening the vet and I made the decision to extend the healing time for his back and knee.

I last saw an obvious sign of pain on Tuesday night. Cats hide their pain as a survival mechanism and he likely still feels some discomfort. When he goes outside his back and knee will be under increased stress.

He'd definitely like to get out there but he's pretty good about it. I give him extra time and he's always keen to stalk something rustling against the outside of the nylon cat tunnel. He still sleeps through the night.

The vet will examine Jasper on Friday evening and judge if he's still bothered by his injuries. Backs take a long time to heal (don't I know it) and knee ligaments are the same. I'd really prefer that we avoid surgery.

He's not tearing the house apart and his lovely nature remains. With the sun shining on the tunnel Jasper's changed from black and white to black and red - Canterbury colours.

Today's gratitude: For seeing my first Fantail (piwakawaka) at home. Maybe it's the native plants I've put in my garden - I don't know. What a joy to see it flitting in close to the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.