ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

I Drove All Night

This weekend would have seen the running of the 2020 Le Mans 24 Hours Race but, for obvious reasons, it is not taking place. It has been rescheduled for September though I think, even then, that it will have to be held behind closed doors. Having 250,000 spectators descend on the same place is not exactly the recipe for staying safe whilst the virus is still around.
I attended the race regularly from 1989 - though it is 20 odd years since I last went. I did have a half formed idea of going back this year to celebrate my 60th birthday, but the pandemic put the kibosh on those plans!
So, in any event, the closest I could have got this weekend would be to don the souvenir t-shirt and replica chronograph whilst remaining safely at home. For those who are interested, the model on the windowsill is of Mike Hawthorn’s 1955 winning D Type Jaguar.
Let us hope we can return to mass attendance at sporting events in the not too distant future. Whatever sport you follow, nothing beats the emotions of being there in person as part of the crowd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.