ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Strange Brew

I suppose I could have used the less well known - but more literal - Cream track “Coffee Song” as today’s title, but it was the strangeness of the situation I wanted to comment on.
Mid Saturday afternoon in Kendal’s Market Place and there is barely a soul around, in spite of the weather fairing up quite nicely after lunch. We had been for a walk along the river and decided to head back via the town centre. Delighted to find that there was a lone coffee shop open for business.
Takeaway only (and not my favourite brand) but as the first “proper” coffee in twelve weeks, I wasn’t going to start quibbling over bean varieties and espresso extraction times!
Tasted bloody lovely though, and nicely complemented by a slice of Millionaires Shortbread (I’d earned it - 5K walked today!) Only one slight snag - quite tricky to actually drink it whilst keeping 2m away. Or have I interpreted the sign a little too literally?
It will be interesting to see what town looks like next Saturday when we’ve had a week of non essential shops being open.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.