ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Motorbikin’

Bike service was due last October. Weather was crap all month so abandoned the idea and put the bike into winter hibernation. Spring 2020 arrives and the bike was booked in for the service (and a recall mod) on March 27th. Unfortunately, on March 23rd lockdown commenced and the next day I got the text telling me the dealership was closed for servicing until further notice!
Got in touch with them again a couple of weeks back and the good news was that the workshop was reopening soon and they could fit me in on Friday 12th June.
It’s a 100 mile round trip to Carlisle so I was praying for a dry day. Sadly, it was chucking it down this morning but I wasn’t going to cancel so it was waterproofs on and take it easy on the way up. One good thing, my 20 year old, cheapo, “100% Waterproof” oversuit still does what it says on the tin!
Rain had stopped by the time I got to Carlisle and I was offered a very welcome coffee to warm me up whilst I booked the bike in. Told it would take an hour so I took myself off for a wander round the city centre.
As expected, very few people about (except, strangely, for a massive queue outside HSBC) though there were definitely signs of activity in some of the shops as they get ready to reopen from Monday.
Good run home with only a bit of mizzle over Shap to - literally - put a dampener on things. Stopped for a photo by the memorial on Shap Summit before completing the journey home. Then took me another hour to clean the bike and dry my kit out before all could be safely put away.
Impressed with the service from KC Superbikes. Covid safety measures in place but not overdone. Quite refreshing to be credited with a bit of common sense as to how to stay safe rather than being forced down one way systems with tape and Perspex all over the place. Apart from us all keeping a sensible distance apart, the whole experience felt very “normal”.
Now to hope the good weather returns so I can actually get out on the bike for a bit of fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.