ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Sign of the Times

We’ve had a visiting Covid test facility, here in Kendal, for a few weeks now. I regularly run past the site but haven’t been able to work out if they set up on a regular basis, or just as and when required.
Whatever, I’ve never seen more than two or three cars queuing up to be tested and today there were none waiting as I ran past. In fact, judging by what I saw, it had been a quiet morning and wasn’t about to get busy any time soon.
I’m going to take that as a positive. As I understand it, you can only apply for a test if you have symptoms. So either very few people around here have symptoms at the moment, or all those affected are asymptomatic. Let us hope it is the former. And given that over a fortnight has passed since the Lakes were inundated with visitors over the Bank Holiday weekend, it may be that the anticipated rise in infections is not going to happen. Or if it is, it is back in the home towns of the day trippers.
It’s very hard to know what to believe these days - second spike due “any day” or not until winter. Things back to normal by September or in the grip of the pandemic for years to come. The truth is, nobody actually knows at the moment. Though, blessed with the benefit of hindsight, it’s amazing how many are quick to point out what should have been done last week / last month / last year!
I can only go by the what I know personally. I don’t know anyone who has died from this virus. I know of less than half a dozen people who have had it - and even that number is subjective as most did not get tested. All have long since recovered. I appreciate this will not be the same for everyone but, as I say, I can only speak for my own experience. Until a vaccine is developed, or we are told there are no active cases, I shall continue to follow the latest guidelines and keep myself and my family and friends as safe as possible.
Apologies for the poor quality of the picture. Given that the soldiers weren’t actually busy when I took the picture, I was trying to keep behind a tree whilst at the same time pretending I was checking my Strava feed, as I suspect there are probably rules against taking photographs at these testing centres!
I did get a very hard stare though, as I put the phone away and carried on with my run, but I’m hoping that was because they were impressed by the athletic prowess they were witnessing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.