Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Art

As part of my preparation for my first day back in the office after 12 weeks of working from home I took my bicycle out for a quick spin. The tyres needed pumping up and as I stood in the gutter bent double over a bicycle pump a kindly stranger on a bicycle stopped to ask if I needed help. I explained that the bicycle had been neglected since Easter and I was just ensuring its roadworthiness. “As long as you're OK!” he said before pedalling off again.

I'm really hoping that the world is going to be a kinder, more thoughtful place after this globally-shared experience.

I have been working feverishly to get my embroidery to this stage before recording it for a blip, and as usual, the radio has kept me company all day. My radio-inspired thought for the day is that had my father's family name been Lance and my spouse's family name been Bottoms, I would not have combined the two.

I have been making a point of posting a blip every single day while life has been very weird indeed. I may find the time to continue blipping every day as we begin to emerge from our captivity, but I may find that it takes me a while to adjust to a new routine. I'm saying this only so that any regular followers kind enough to notice an absence don't become concerned about my well-being. That's the problem with a rigid daily routine isn't it.

My considered opinion about public monuments is this;
We put up memorials to victims. These memorials do not normally include likenesses of those victims, but they recognise an injustice.
In UK we put up blue plaques to remember those we wish to remember in just the same way that Hollywood remembers its stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.
If we wish to see a likeness of an admired person we can visit a waxwork museum, and when that image ceases to draw public interest the figure is melted down and the material recycled into a new likeness of someone more relevant to current thinking.
There are no tombs or lasting memorials to those we regard as evil. Some, like Joseph Stalin and Jimmy Savile, did have grand monuments, but those have been removed since we acknowledged the horror of their lifestyles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.