A day in the life

By Shelling

Full day

Sunday. Not a resting day, but a beautiful one.
I was booked for two house-showings during the day, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. The first house was situated on the southeast part of the island. I live on the west side so it's about a twenty five minutes car drive. The house was really nice but it feels as it's a bit far from my friends and the southeast feels more isolated, especially in the winter. Besides, my whole body feels a little compressed when all the ceilings of the rooms are just above my head. As a contrast I give you a picture from one of the old roads on the west side, as they probably looked a hundred years ago. Lots of air there.

The second house was even smaller and my sensitive nose immediately picked up the smell of mould, and it was all too small.

Later in the afternoon I went to a garden concert, in the same garden where me and my friend Bengt was playing a couple of weeks ago. This time we were listening to a trio, the woman is one of the top performers on her instrument, the "Nyckelharpa", you can find a description in English here. It was an absolutely brilliant concert, their music is definitely in the style of Swedish folk music but the trio is part of the "new" movement of younger people using that style of music to compose their own music, often also inspired by music from outside of Sweden too, Often called "World-music". She is called Emilia Amper, the percussionist Dan Knagg and the cellists name is Anders Löfberg. If you ever see one of their name on a poster, I recommend you to go to the concert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.