Before and After........

Today was a good day for me to do bonsai on the porch.  The high temp for the day was 82, with a delightful breeze.   It was beautiful outside.   So.....
I grabbed my Sumarian tropical plant.  It is from the northern part of South America.
    As you can see from the top picture it was a  full bush, choking itself out of the pot.  I pulled it out, cleaned the roots out, cleaned the hard roots away, and put it in a pot full of new soil and pearlite.
     Then I started trimming the tree back.  I found the front, the line, looked for movement and character, selected a few primary branches.  This tree needs to continue growing and developing, hence the need for soil.
    I also marked the tree a wee bit.   At the top, 3 tiny branches on the left, have  a black circle around a tiny, thin shoot.  It will take time, but I think that will be the apex.  It needs time to grow.
    On the bottom, to the right, is a thick, heavy branch that has no taper.  I want to cut it off, but this tree has been cut hard.  I left the branch, with leaves so that the tree has sugar factories and a source of food and strength.   
      I will set this tree aside now and let it grow all summer long.   Next spring I will reevaluate it's growth and  see how it's doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.